Tags

,

The fresh snow melts, revealing cheerful ends, and torturous cliffhangers…

Spring

It feels like this season ended way sooner than I anticipated. Admittedly, I didn’t end up watching as many shows from this season as I would have liked. In fact, I think I only actively followed three throughout this season (Erased, Grimgar, and Konosuba), a fact that I can only refute with the excuse of “I didn’t have time!” On the other hand, I am slowly catching up on some of the older gems such as Madoka Magica, Fates, and Durarara so I’m not being too unproductive (blogging-wise anyway, can’t say the same for that upcoming government test.) The winter season ended on such a satisfying note for Erased, and I’m really hoping to see more misadventures from our motley crew of misfits in Konosuba. That being said, there are plenty of upcoming shows I’m keeping my eye as spring rapidly approaches.

With the developers of Attack on Titan on board, Kabaneri of the Iron Fortress was definitely one to look out for. Set in an apocalyptic steam punk universe, giant monsters known as Kabane have overthrown humans as the dominant race. Now, small stations serve as safe havens for the people living inside, with steel locomotives serving as the only source of transportation between these stations. Seems familiar? Despite all the skepticism about whether this is just another Attack on Titan cash-in , I’m willing to give it a chance. The show is backed by the distinguished Wit Studio (the team behind AoT), as well as the writers of Code Geass. I also love the steampunk atmosphere they briefly showed in the PV so that’s also a plus.Hoping that these two minds will come together to bring us something original for this promising new IP.

IronFortressSanctuaryI also found myself quite excited for for another mystery-esque anime after the heart-wrenching finale of Erased. An original work from Studio Diomedea, Mayoiga takes place in Nanakimura, a fabled village where one can escape their daily repetitive life, free from work and hardship. A shady bus tour soon takes our young men and women, each harboring their own hardships, deep into the mountains. They soon arrive to their destination, a decrepit and uninhabited village in shambles. Why were they dropped off here? And what is the secret that Nanakimura is keeping hidden? This show holds a lot of promise, and with my current cravings for another thrilling mystery, I’m definitely keeping an eye on this one.

MayoigaPV1

Onto a completely different genre, Flying Witch is looking like an entertaining ride through daily life. Starring Makoto Kowata, an air headed 15 year-old witch who moves in with her relatives, I have high hopes for this show. The charming art style of the characters, along with the calming backdrop of the countryside really makes me feel at home. I’m not sure what to expect from this one, but it’s definitely a welcome change in pace, from all the hectic thrills that was this Winter season, to the more relaxed pace of your typical comedy slice of life. Let’s kick back and enjoy the ride.

FlyingWitchPV1

There are also other shows I may pick up as the season goes on, such as Bungou Stray Dogs and Joker Game. Both have very interesting plots, though I can’t promise any updates on those two as I catch up on two seasons worth of Haikyuu, Madoka Magica, and the epically cinematic Fate Series (heard that one was a clusterfuck of confusion, so that should be exciting).

Oh, and I also realize that I haven’t posted anything on Light Novels yet. Despite my incessant love for reading, I haven’t found the time to sit down with a good novel, much less a larger light novel series. Don’t worry though! It’s coming soon, as I settle down with a comfortable balance of classes, writing, and a little bit of gaming on the side. Have a recommendation for a Light Novel you absolutely love? An anime you’re looking forward to this upcoming season? Comment below on some of your favorites and I’ll be sure to check them out. And another toast to another great anime season!

Kami-Sama!

