Continuing my trend of doting on redheads.

yume.png

This is my first journey through the “100 Days of Anime” Challenge, an ambitious project that I’ll be taking. For the full list of prompts, click here.

“Name your anime crush.”

Crushes, a concept so familiar yet almost alien at the same time. We’ve seen it all in anime, from the one-sided affairs to full blown romances. Yet this prompt made me ask myself just what is a crush? Why do we have crushes? Maybe I’ve been a lot more reclusive than I thought, with my last real crush being in sophomore year of high school, a whopping five years ago (and the year I got sucked into anime, go-figure). After putting some thought into it, my best way of describing a crush is initial interest – a longing to learn more about someone.

To put it bluntly, I’ve got a crush on Yume and everything she has to offer.

sneakyYume.png

And it’s nothing trivial either! Despite her being “just an anime character,” the small nuances the writers and animators put into her character is amazing. Little habits, from how quickly she eats, licking her fingers after a meal, to even her accent and way of speaking. All of these help play her up as a sweet happy-go-lucky country girl. Honestly, I was afraid she would end up purely being waifu bait – a fanservice character meant to rile up ships and best girl debates. But I quickly fell in love with her easygoing manner, the careless way she rushes into battle, and her simple albeit blunt way of speaking her mind. Her optimism is also a nice change compared to my more pragmatic look to everything; walking into every situation with a bounce in her step.

Though it also helps that she’s the cutest redhead ever (sorry Shirayuki!).

firesideYume.png

In the end, I think she’d be fun to hang out with as a friend regardless. The art style played a role in the appeal, always showcasing her in warmer colors that blend in perfectly with her bubbly personality. Fanservice or not, the scenes she was in always showed her off as the party’s lovable ranger. Besides, who said I hated fanservice!

*Ahem*

meneither.png

Don’t worry, I’m not either.

 

 

