Dropping the plot in favor of violence.

bentofinish.png

This is my first journey through the “100 Days of Anime” Challenge, an ambitious project that I’ll be taking. For the full list of prompts, click here.

“Favorite fighting anime?”

Ben-To! One of the few fighting animes under my belt despite Hajime no Ippo being on my PTW list for months. Though my selection of fighting anime to choose from are limited, I remember enjoying Ben-To despite almost forgetting about its existence. The show was action-packed, taking us through the simple and straight-forward plot revolving around fighters and their love for half-priced bento boxes.

And damn, do they look delicious.

bento.png

It’s not usually my style to ignore story fundamentals such as character development or concise story lines. After all, I can’t even remember the names of the main heroines aside from “Ice Witch” and “Swan of the Lake”. The show didn’t take us to anywhere special or even remotely memorable, and the whole meta of “gangs” encroaching on local groceries to contest these prized bento boxes were mediocre at best.

But maybe that was the point.

Because at that moment, all I really wanted to see was cute girls in epicly choreographed and animated fight scenes (as violent as that sounds).

And that’s exactly what I got in my bento box.

