I’m like Mugen, but infinitely less badass.

SamuraiChamploo-Mugen.png

This is my first journey through the “100 Days of Anime” Challenge, an ambitious project that I’ll be taking. For the full list of prompts, click here.

“An anime character you’re most similar to?”

No, I’m not a sword-wielding homeless man in the modern world. Honestly, this prompt was quite difficult to get down. After all, projecting myself onto anime characters with much more interesting lives is an almost impossible task. After thinking on it for a long while, I realized that maybe I didn’t need to aimlessly wander around the country, picking fights to be like Mugen. That we’re similar in more ways than “badassery”. I admit, his rough and tumble attitude appeals to me, yet one thing I can relate to is his ability to throw caution to the wind when it comes to fighting.

Maybe that’s not such a good thing.

SamuraiChamploo-Restraint.png

In writing, I find myself rushing headlong into my work with no regard for formula or “the norm”. In life, I’m eager to try new things, confident in my own skills and my ability to “wing it”. I’ll do things my way, pick up my own style, my own way of fighting.

It’s much more rewarding this way after all.

Mugen’s not a hero, nor does he try to be. Selfish and crass, yet still holding some obscure code of honor, Mugen runs a fine line between being rude and being genuine; something that I greatly admire. No, I don’t swear between every sentence I speak, but I can be blunt (to the dismay of those around me). Someone acting obnoxious or rude towards me? I’ll tell them to stop. Short and simple, no beating around the bush, or any of the mindgames some people insist on following for the sake of “ettiquete”.

At the end of the day, I’m myself. Maybe not as unique as I want to believe, but prideful nevertheless. And I think that kind of thinking is what Mugen can agree on.

SamuraiChamploo-crab.png

