When it comes down to animation, nothing beats- warning: personal opinion incoming.

A Serious Rin.png

This is my first journey through the “100 Days of Anime” Challenge, an ambitious project that I’ll be taking. For the full list of prompts, click here.

“Name the anime with the best animations.”

It only occurred to me how strange anime may same to non-anime viewers when my aunt glanced over at me watch Haikyu. I was in the middle of a dialogue scene between Shoyo and Tobio, intently following along to the sub. “Why are you watching the video at two frames a second?”

I was confused.

What was she going on about? After closer inspection, I realized that dialogue scene was a whole five seconds of two frames: Shoyo’s mouth opening and closing. Nothing wrong with that, animation can roughly be described as sequence of pictures playing quickly. I didn’t see what was the problem until I questioned her further. To her, the stiffness of the characters and the lack of motion was almost jarring, a stark contrast to her usual repertoire of “Game of Thrones” and “How I met your Mother”.

Something that never was a problem for me.

Shoyo.jpg

In anime, when a scene is being animated really well, it shows. Some value the subtle animations that change our characters body language, giving characters more personality. Others want to see intense, fast-paced action complemented by slick animations. And no one does the latter better than studio Ufotable’s Fate/Unlimited Blade Works.

I’m more than a little biased. Though I appreciated the small details that went into the keions, I chose UBW in particular because of its beautiful action scenes (specifically the first fight). Why? Because it got my non-anime watching friends to become absolutely obsessed over the medium.

2017-09-30_16-35-51.gif

I remember watching the episode on my laptop, completely engrossed in the action and loving every moment of it. Discovering that Unlimited Blade Works was on Netflix, I did the only sensible thing to do.

Gather my friends, and watch the series in 4k.

Over the years, my love for the more “nuanced” quirks of animation grew. But I will never forget the reactions: Rin Tohsaka instantly being waifu of the day, the awe-inspiring combat between servants.

And who doesn’t love a good action scene?

