Tags

, ,

Fear, in the face of excessive power.

RoachGrab.png

This is my first journey through the “100 Days of Anime” Challenge, an ambitious project that I’ll be taking. For the full list of prompts, click here.

“Moment that shocked you the most in any anime?”

I admit, I stopped watching this show purely because I weak heart couldn’t handle it. The rollercoaster of emotions known as Terraformers was exciting, tense, and heartbreaking; by the end of it, I wanted off. A large group of Earth’s best are flown off into space to explore a new planet, which incidentally is inhabited by a race of giant roaches.

Creepy.

Giant Roach.png

We get a true glimpse at just how weak humans are compared to these oversized pest when a the “best cannoneer in the North” gets her head taken off moments after landing.

Terraform-Elena.png

It’s, sudden, jarring, and immediately fills you with fear. The confidence instilled by the squad leaders is sent crashing down in one blow. It’s was over in seconds, yet that scene lingered in my head until the episode ended.

Though not the most shocking moment I’ve seen in anime, it’s one of the few that actually had me scared for the entire Mars landing crew.

Maybe some day, I’ll be man enough to return.

